Trying Vegan Meatless Crumbles

          So, I thought since I am trying to go very health and also because my body decided to be an ass. What I mean by that is my body has decided to make it to where having gout and with the kidney stones, tests showed that I have too much Uric Acid throughout my whole body and Kidneys.

To combat this I was directed to avoid all red meats (or animal by products) fish and Shellfish. Well, to avoid shellfish is not a problem since I am allergic to shellfish. But, being a person who has grown up eating red meats such as beef, pork, rabbit, and deer etc. the list could go on.  Naturally, I wanted to scream my head off but I also know that your body chemistry changes all the time throughout your life.

Today I decided I really, really had big cravings for  Yummy Tacos that I could eat as I sat in front of the TV watching the Harry Potter Movies! (Ron Weasley would be so proud.)  I scooted my happy butt up to my local Wal-Mart to see what they had in store for me that was vegan but wait also gluten-free. Yes, you heard me right Gluten Free! On top of things mentioned above I also have Celiac which if anyone out there that has this condition knows how bad it sucks to find good foods to eat even when it comes to dining out or at home.

To give you just a quick run down about Celiac disease and NO it’s not contagious but it can be hereditary; Celiac is where the body cannot process Wheat, Barley or Rye. Here is an official description and link if you want to learn more, plus by the way people like me that have been diagnosed with this know that its not a FAD to us it is our health and livelihood that requires us to make sure our food has not been in contact with either of the mentioned above items.

Celiac disease is a serious autoimmune disorder that can occur in genetically predisposed people where the ingestion of gluten leads to damage in the small intestine. It is estimated to affect 1 in 100 people worldwide. Two and one-half million Americans are undiagnosed and are at risk for long-term health complications.
Read more at https://celiac.org/celiac-disease/understanding-celiac-disease-2/what-is-celiac-disease/#ADep2BsA9v0llsfl.99

So, those who say “I am on the Gluten-free diet.” They are doing it, just to do it! But many and I mean thousands of people around the world have to avoid gluten not because of a Fad but for their own health! Also, you can check out two awesome people’s blogs on Celiac and the struggles it is to have this Autoimmune disease.

Erica @ http://celiacandthebeast.com/

Taylor @ https://glutenaway.com/

Again, as I head to the frozen section of the store I see many different vegan products but there were only two that were meat-less crumbles (basically they look like you browned up a pan of ground meat like beef). The first one I looked at was by a company called:70997104-dd67-4f60-9e0c-ac8955bbe516_1.efdafb3ad2ddd5b9ab310b6305f7b6b9Now to be fair and honest I have tried these before years ago, but that was before I was diagnosed with Celiac. I never paid attention to the ingredients on the back, I just knew they were healthy and vegan. (Just a quick note this can fool your kids especially if you use it for tacos & add taco seasoning, but the other brand I will mention is awesome too!) MorningStar Farms crumbles are great but when I went to grab those to use for my taco fix an alarm went of in my head… *DING..DING…ALERT…ALERT, you need to make sure of what its made of!* since a lot of vegan things are made with wheat.

So, I turned it over and looked down the back to find the main ingredients list & contains list. Low and behold there it was bright and a shot to my system….morn star, crumbl nf_LI (2).jpgIt contained Wheat! So, I had to look and pray there was another substitute, thank goodness there was I hoped at least.

I saw this product, it was new to me and have never tried it before and was like hummm…. I wonder?? IMG_0946

Scared to look at the back of the packaging, I turned it over figuring that it was going to have the same result as the MorningStar one. But then I saw it, light a light shining down from the heavens on the packaging… Well, not really but you know what I mean.  There it was:

I was so Freaking happy when I saw this! I was doing the jig in the isle! Singing to my self… I get Tacos To night…..Tacos tonight! (not caring about the stares I got, LOL).

Okay so back to the review, right? Well, I cooked up these crumbles in a sauce pan with some Lawry’s Taco seasoning added the suggested amount of water and once it was simmered down and I had all my fixings ready I put together my tacos!

I was very pleasantly surprised by these crumbles; yes they had a bit more chewy texture also, I could tell a slight hit of what may be the peas natural flavor but it DID NOT ruin the tacos and actually made them taste just fine. I would definitely recommend these to anyone who is trying to eat less meat as well as having do deal with Celiac.  I believe they would make a great substitute in many meals and recipes for example Lasagna or even Spaghetti. Now as for the cost of this package it was $4.50 for it and honestly its well worth it cause I use maybe 1 tbsp of the product for each taco then fill it to the brim with Louisiana Red Devil Hot Sauce, Lettuce, Avocado, and Tomatoes.  So, there is plenty of leftovers for me to have more tomorrow or the next day.

Fun fact– my mom tried to use it as a punishment when I was a kid, she would put like a Tbsp of it on my tongue and I couldn’t have noting to drink cause I was being punished but what she didn’t expect is that I started to like it from the get go… whoa that pissed her off! ) Lettuce, Avocado, and Tomatoes.

My advice don’t be afraid to try new things for your health or for your family’s health. Even if you eat meat, veggies or what not trying something new might also help you with those picky eaters in the family that might not other wise want to eat vegetables. Yes, it’s a different texture than meat but you can always fool them that its a different cut of meat that you are using in the tacos etc….. Just remember to hide the evidence until after they have eaten! Ha..ha..

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog, I know its small right now but since I just started this on the side from my YouTube Channel it might take me some time to get articles written.

If you would like me to review a product, video, or anything shoot me an email or even a letter. Check my about Page for all the information.

Jaa Mata! See you Later ❣🤗

Save

Leave a Reply

